top of page

Q&A with Chuck Black | Order Merchant now!



I'm a little late to the Chuck Black fan party, and even now, my favorite books of his aren't even the ones my friends rant and rave over. 😆 (Please, if you are a fan of his Starlore Legacy series, tell me below!!)


Even so, I've very much enjoyed all the books I have read by him, and I am very grateful to the man himself for taking the time to answer some questions for you guys! So here we go! Author interveiw with Chuck Black! 👑 ✨





Where do you get inspiration for your writing?

Originally, it was from wanting to inspire my children in their faith. Now, it is to do the same for thousands of other families throughout the world. Ultimately, my inspiration come from the Lord.



What stage of the writing process is your favorite and why?

Visualizing plot and scenes, the step before actually writing the words. However, I also love trying to craft a powerful sentence.

What does ideal "writing time" look like to you?

Four hours in the evening with no distractions, in my writing chair, epic instrumental music playing in the background, and a cool glass of flavored water next to me.

Did/do you have a writing mentor? If so, would you recommend having one?

I did not. My road to authorship was unusual. I would consider each of my six editors as mentors in a way. I learned something new from each of them. If at all possible, a writing mentor is fantastic.

Of all the books you've written, which is your favorite and why?

I really don't have a favorite...each one is special for a variety of reasons. I think the most satisfying so far is "Light of the Last". This story became so big that I wasn't sure I could wrap it all up and finish it well, but I feel as though God had given me inspiration in ways I did not expect, causing me to include elements in previous books that led to a beautiful climax and conclusion.

What are three things you personally can't write without?

1. A quiet place

2. A rested mind and body

3. A good supply of snacks

What is the best piece of writing advice you've ever heard?

Discipline yourself to write 1000 words a day.

What is one piece of advice you'd give a new writer?

Give serious consideration to the message you are about to broadcast to the world. Be sure that it honors the Lord in every way.





Some very solid writing advice there. I especially love the three things—a quiet place, a rested mind and body, and a good supply of snacks. I could not write if I didn't have snacks or coffee and water with me. Or music. So glad one of my favorite authors uses epic instrumental music too! (I have a great post about some really awesome music playlists here, if you want to check that out!)


And the newest addition to the Starlore Legacy series is out! Get Merchant now!




Catch ya on the flip side!

_Mac 🤎

bottom of page