top of page

Spring Fever | My spring to-do


Aaaaaah. Can you smell that??


That’s the smell of spring, my friend.


It’s finally here! At least, that’s what it says on the calendar. 🤭 And I, for one, am so ready. Bring on the warmer weather, that budding green that seems to envelope the land, and aaall the spring fever. (And the allergies . . . 👀) I’m ready!


But Spring is a new season, and new seasons mean new lists! Lists are my jam. I have them for everything. Books, plotting my writing, household to-do, dreams, goals, future plans, you name it, it’s on a list somewhere around here. 😂


So, without further ado, my Spring 2024 list:




WRITING



Finish PROJECT: Volt and Co.


I know, I know, I’ve been saying this for years now. But I feel like this might be the year! 🤣 These characters have been stuck in the middle of mayhem for too long now. It’s time to write “THE END.” (And then promptly start sobbing. But you didn’t hear that from me.)


Break ground on PROJECT: Justice


I wrote the first draft to this baby over three years ago (and yes, it’s cringy to read back though). Then I let it sit while I wrote its two and a half siblings (long story there, we won’t go into it now) and then promptly stuffed their physical WIPs in the back of my closet to collect dust while the characters continued to live rent free in my head.


Well my friends, it’s time to start rewriting that story. So YA spy/suspense/thriller here we come!


And, bonus: it’s set in early spring. 😎 So the inspiration’s perfect!



Sporadic creativity


A while back I set aside a week to write whatever my brain felt like working on that day. Dystopian royalty for two of those days? Sure. A random spy scene/short story that came out of nowhere? You bet. Blog posts and outlines and journaling? All of the above!


And it was so much fun!


So I want to do that more. The creative freedom of that week was unlike any other. My brain thrived on the zero restraints and words flowed like they were going out of style. It was amazing. Therapeutic, even. And I need to do it again.


READING



The Secret Garden


Sighs My spring read. I’ve honestly lost track of how many times I’ve read this book (don’t trust what Goodreads says, I’ve been reading this thing since long before I even knew what Goodreads was). I’d say this is my absolute favorite classic ever, but then I read other classics and eat my words. So . . . let’s keep it as this is my favorite spring read. Hence why I come back to it every year. 🥰


Tackle my Physical TBR


I’ve been trying to slim down my physical TBR for a few months now, and I’m actually making significant progress on it! It’s hard when I’m such a mood reader, or don’t have several of the same books in a series, and all I want to do is stay in that storyworld, but hey. We’re getting there.


OUTSIDE




The Spring 100 challenge started March 19th, and I’m super excited to be a part of it this year!


The Spring 100 challenge is a walking/running challenge where you try to walk 100 miles in spring! It’s super fun, and now with the new Spring 100 member portal, the competition between friends is on! Registration closes April 8th, so if you want to join, now’s the time!


I’ve already gotten several of my friends to sign up. This year’s gonna be a blast! 😎


GARDEN


I’ve got lots of things I’m dying to plant this year. A mini rose of mine needs a new pot. A garden bed has been rearranged and is ready for soil. Spring fever literally took root months ago, if I’m being honest. 😂 Here’s just a small list of what I want to have growing in my garden this year:


Zinnias 

Cherry Tomatoes

Chamomile

Kale

Carrots

Snapdragons

Marigolds

Potatoes

Sweet Peas



And that’s just what I’m remembering off the top of my head! Of course, once I get to actually putting the seeds in the ground, I usually end up going “. . . Yeah, there’s no way I have enough room for all of this.” 😭🤣 But then that lets me get creative, which is always fun.


SWIMMING


I love swimming. And it pains me to say I didn’t even go swimming once last year. What is up with that?! It’s just wrong. So this year, I am determined to make up for it. Cannonball here I come!



STAR-GAZING


Astronomy has been a little (not so) secret passion of mine since I was a kid. There’s just something about going outside at night and looking up at the gorgeous expanse of stars. I’m in sore need to brush up on my constellations though, lemme tell ya.


MEET-UPS!


I have no idea if this one is attainable this year or not, but I would absolutely love to meet up with some friends. Which might sound easy . . . but they’re literally scattered all over the country. 😭 And we all have different schedules and commitments and lives, and I really don’t know. But I would absolutely love to!




So there you have it! My spring to-do. Who knows how much of it I’ll actually get done and how much will get pushed back to summer/fall, but hey. That’s life. 😅


Do you have spring plans yet? Are you participating in the Spring 100? What’s your favorite spring read? I’d love to hear y’alls answers!


Catch ya on the flip side!

_Mac 🤎



bottom of page