top of page

The Beauty of Breaks | Plus, a quick change notice . . .




If you do a little digging around writing blogs and the advice they offer, you’ll more than likely find the piece of advice entitled “Write Every Day.”


No matter what, write every single day. A couple words. Paragraphs full. Essays and fanfic and poems and what have you.


It helps build good writing habits. It keeps you fresh in the story. And hey, it’s the best way to get some stelar word counts in—whether they be accumulated over a month’s time or just in the span of a week.


*Snatches up a hammer and shatters the advice like a cartoon alarm clock*


Okay, look. I get it. I get why people say do that. Yes, it helps build great habits and yes, a lot of the greats in the writing world follow this advice.


But there is something to be said for taking a break.



When To Break


There’s this little thing called Burnout, and believe me when I say, I wouldn’t touch it with a thirty-nine-and-a-half-foot pole. (High-five if you got that reference.) At least, not intentionally. I’ve come pretty darn close to it a couple of times, though, and it is not pretty.


I’m a busy person by nature. I like being busy. Busy is good. Busy keeps me sane. (You’ve heard my spiel before, right?)


Until busy makes me go insane.


There have been several instances where I’m knee deep in a project or a writing challenge and trying for the life of me to get work done . . . and it just won’t come. Creatively, I’m drained. My eyes hate me for making them stare at a screen, and my body, inactive though it physically might be, is sluggish and worn out.


Anybody relate?


I might be on deadline. I might be in the middle of a challenge.


But I might just need to take a break.


And that goes for you too. There’s a difference between being lazy and being smart. Being lazy is putting off a project. Being smart is knowing when it is in your best interest to take a step back.


This step back doesn’t have to be for weeks or months on end. Sometimes, a couple of days is all you need. A weekend at best. As long as you’re stepping away from your project, putting it as far out of your mind as possible, and taking the time to live.



The Benefits of Breaks


I really don’t need to sell you the benefits of taking a break. Raise your hand if you want burnout. Now raise your hand if you want to chuck it out a third-story window.


. . .


Adios, buddy. Hope you have good life insurance.


Burnout is not as simple as stressing out. It suppresses creativity, can give you headaches, depression, an increased sense of cynicism, and that’s just the tip of the iceberg.


Not fun at all.


Again, these breaks don’t have to be for excessive amounts of time at once—though, if you need it, please, for pity’s sake, take all the time you need. Sometimes just a weekend spent refilling your creative well can do you a world of good.


You won’t regret it.



How to Break (for the workaholics)


Yes, my fellow workaholics.


I’m looking at you.


🧐


Don’t think just because you have this massive to-do list or are used to being busy means you are exempt from burnout. In fact, burnout seems to like targeting people such as ourselves the most.


We seriously can’t catch a break.


I get it, okay? I’ve been there. Still go there, albeit against my will. But there are things that you can do to get past this.


First, this is not failure. Taking a break is not quitting. It’s not throwing in the towel. It doesn’t make you any less of a person than if you drove yourself to an early grave trying to get through on zero mental energy.


It’s not worth it.


Second, step back. Actually, physically, take a step back. Get off those screens. Catch some more sleep. Push all thoughts work-related as far out of your mind as they can go.


Now do what fills you creatively.


This might take some trial and error if you’re not sure what this looks like for you. For me, reading always helps me unwind.


Getting outside and being active in the sunshine is also something I’d prescribe for just about anything. Even do some baking or journaling—I didn’t know till recently just how calming and recharging drawing little boxes for a bujo chart can be. 🤣 Whatever gets your creative boat floating again.


And, if you’re still struggling with it, get a friend involved. Text your bestie, “Hey, I’m taking a break and I need you to threaten to whack me with a frying pan if I work.” I’m sure you have several people who’d be more than willing to smack you silly in the name of taking a creative break. I know I do. 🙄😂



So, there you have it. Now repeat after me—Breaks are friends, not foes. *Listens* Good job! You've just taken the first step towards less stress and more living life. 😁


Have you experienced burnout? Do you struggle with feeling like taking a break is failure? How do you creatively recharge? I’d love to hear y’all’s opinions and methods!


Also, small note: for several reasons, I have decided to start posting only every other Friday. I apologize for switching it up on ya (sorry Pipes! You’ll now have less posts to stalk. 😂🤎) but there’s been a lot going on in my life and I don’t want to sacrifice quality for quantity. 😕


So, there will be a little less of me on here, but if you aren’t already, make sure to subscribe to my newsletter—you'll be seeing me every month with announcements, recent reads, and updates on my writing (plus the occasional surprise visit to let you in on the odd special announcement or giveaway. 😁).


Catch ya on the flip side!

_Mac 🤎

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page