top of page

How About "Rest & Peace"? | What does rest look like?


Who here’s a workaholic?

 

. . .

 

Yeah, me too.

 

I’ll admit it. I get caught up in everything to do. The lists, the deadlines, the never-ending commitments that swallow me whole before I know what’s happening. I’ve gotten better at saying no, but somehow, my to-do lists haven’t gotten the memo. 😅


Then about a month ago, three of my deadlines had to go and stack themselves on top of each other like some janky Jenga tower.

 

By nothing short of a miracle, I completed them all.

 

Then made the executive decision to go AWOL for two weeks. 👀

 

I’ll also be the first to admit it was long overdue.

 

After hearing everyone and their brother singing the praises of what a bout of rest can do to a soul, I finally got smart. Took me long enough, right?

 

I don’t have to preach about the benefits, both physical and mental, of rest. I’m sure you’ve already seen plenty of posts and stories with bullet points on the subject (and I’ll be the first to agree with all of them). It’s rejuvenating. Reinvigorating. Biblical.

 

But . . . what does it look like?



Heck with one size fits all

Let’s face it. We’re only human. But the beautiful thing about being human is that no one of us is identical to the other (Thank you, Lord). That means that no two of us will have identical thoughts on what “rest” actually entails.

 

For you, rest might look like a thick book, a bubbly bath, and a glass or mug of something delish all to yourself. A quiet walk in the woods, journaling, or even a craft. Or all of the above.

 

Then there’s me, who while most of the above is very appealing, also uses working out and heavy physical activity as a form of “rejuvenation.”

 

Hey, I’m God’s kid, take it up with Him. 😉

 

The point is, it’s gonna look different for everyone.


Rest = Being Filled Up

 

And no, I’m not talking about food (although it totally can. No judgement here).

 

The point of resting is taking a break, of recharging your energy stores, of refilling your creative well.

 

Take a look at what’s depleting your physical and mental stores. (Psst. Stress is a huge culprit here.) Is it looming deadlines? An overabundance of little things pulling you in a million directions? People? (And yes, my fellow extroverts, even people can be draining us.) Whatever it is, jot it all down.

 

Great. Now make a list of fills you up. What stocks that creative well of yours? Makes you fill full. Beside that double cheeseburger with fries and a shake. You’re looking for the activities and moments that wash away the stress of the rat race—the small (or big) things that make you feel alive and human again.

 


Again, this list is going to look different for everyone. Believe me, there is no one-size-fits-all here. And if you have no clue where to even start, here’s a list of ideas to get you started:


Walks

Reading

Crafts

A spa day

Unplugging

Delving into your Bible

Quiet time with God

Organizing (your workspace could probably use it 😉)

A physical activity of your choice

Soaking up sunshine

Chatting with a friend

Spending time with animals

Getting outside

Baking

Traveling

Playing an instrument

Listening to music

Going on a casual shopping trip

Meeting friends at a coffee shop/for lunch

Visiting your local library/bookshop

Pulling out that abandoned project you started


And that’s just a start. You might appall anything physical in the name of rest, or maybe baking stresses you out. That’s okay! The point is finding something that works for you. Several somethings!

 

For instance, on my break (which I giddily entitled OPERATION: Unplug ✌) I read. A lot. I also did my fair share of sewing (all spontaneous and with no sense of a pattern whatsoever).

 

But I also spent a lot of time outside. I even banged out some workouts, which were sorely needed, if my body’s trauma response was any indication (yes, that was meant to be sarcastic. My body was fine. 😜 Point being, I’m sorely outa shape.)

 

Oh, and I had a few writing sessions too. And a couple movie dates. And was generally and entirely spontaneous.


That’s another point to embrace in resting.


🌻 Spontaneity! 🌻

 

Don’t schedule your down time/rest mode. Just don’t. (Unless you absolutely have to.) This is your time. Not somebody else’s. You don’t need to chart out time for everybody else. You have it all for yourself. So use it as your heart desires—whenever that urge might arise.

 




So there you have it! Hopefully this inspired some ideas or nudged you in the direction of some good down time if you’re long overdue. (I know I was. 😅)

 

Whatever you decide to choose for your rest, just please. Don’t stress over it. Stress is a thief, robbing us of our sanity and our creativeness. Bar your doors and don’t let him win.

 

And just have fun.

 

What’s your go-to method of recharging/resting? Are you the workaholic, or the one reminding the workaholic you know to rest? And when was the last time you took a little time aside to fill yourself up? 🧐

 

Catch ya on the flip side!

_Mac 🤎

Recent Posts

See All

6 commentaires


elizaanneblack
23 juil.

Hehe, thanks Milli. Yeah....I find I'm the workaholic whose reminding others to take a break. Don't ask. XD Taking some time inspired from this to just do the things I want and making a list of what I like and then gonna do it sometime. Thanks again this post is much appreciated! (and was fun to read!)

J'aime
M.L. Milligan
M.L. Milligan
24 juil.
En réponse à

Haha, hey. Sometimes we need to take our own advice. 😉 So glad you enjoyed this!

Modifié
J'aime

Bella Raine
Bella Raine
19 juil.

Ooph, definitely need this reminder at times in my life. Thanks SO much for this post, Mac. I'll definitely come back and read this again. <3

J'aime
M.L. Milligan
M.L. Milligan
19 juil.
En réponse à

You're so welcome, Bella! It's something I think all of us could be reminded of now and again, I'm afraid. 🤭🤎

J'aime

Hannah Grace Staton
Hannah Grace Staton
19 juil.

Ouch. . . so yes, I think this might describe me sometimes. I do a weekly reset of sorts each Sunday, but it would be a good idea to take longer breaks now and then. Thanks for the reminder to rest and the practical ideas for how to do that!

J'aime
M.L. Milligan
M.L. Milligan
19 juil.
En réponse à

Ah, isn't it a blessing that God tells us to work 6 days and rest 1. 😉 You're welcome! I'm glad you found this helpful. 😊

J'aime
bottom of page