top of page

Top Five Romance Books




Hey everyone, and welcome back! Thanks for checking out today's post! *Rustles through a paper bag* Cinnamon roll?


So... small confession. I'm not the hugest romance fan. *Cringes and hides* So naturally... I don't make it a habit to read many books of that genre. That being said, here are my top 5 "romances," AKA, the five books I've read and liked that happened to have a romance thread in it. :)







For being against most content in romance books, you have no idea how surprised and impressed I was with this book. So clean, so upfront and pure. No hidden agendas, no secrets, no inappropriate behavior, nothin'. Thank you, Jesseca! There need to be more books out there like this. Somebody, please, read this, take notes, and start a series, cause that I would read.





Ahhh, this book. When I first read it, I loved it. When I went back and re-read it, I still loved it. I'm not even sure how many times I've read this book now. But I loved every single time. See, here's what I love about it (okay, well, one of many things ;)). It's a "Victorian era kingdom adventure with a dash of sweet romance and just a hint of steampunk," which of course means that there's action and twists and surprises. I love when I can find that in a book. But what makes this book so unique is that while it is indeed all of those things, this is such a... cozy-feeling read for me. I have the action and the adventure. But I have this feeling like I'm coming home every time I read it. Isn't that just the best feeling?




This one counts as a romance, right? I grew up on the 1994 movie, I've seen the 2019 version, and I've read the book at least twice. Alcott is one of my favorite classic authors, mainly for her homey-comfy writing style, as well as her ability to just pen a good story. But yeah. Jo and Professor Bhaer count in my book. ;)




So, technically not a major romance book, but there is a knight-fighting-for-his-lady thread in it, and who doesn't like those, right? This was my first introduction to Howard Pyle and is the reason you will find a large hardback copy of Robin Hood and Otto of the Silver Hand on my bookshelves. A classic tale of chivalry and justice, loyalty and true friendship.






Um....what Perry Elizabeth theme?? *grins* Yeah, technically this is more spy and humor, less romancey, but there is definitely a thread between Brent and Emily, and I'd rather have that hint of one in a book like this than read a book where the romance is the main theme. I know, I know, but I'm just not a huge fan. Besides, this series is so good, it made it into two lists. *smirks*





So there y'all have it! My top five (not really :P) Romance books! I hope at least one of these awesome books made it onto your TBR. And, because we all need just one more book, here's today's free e-book! Just saying, this book is already on mine. ;)


Your turn! Do you absolutely love romance, tolerate it, or just wish it was done better in most books?


(Psst! Don't forget to head on over to see Kate's Top Five Romance picks and sign up for the grand prize giveaway!



Catch ya on the flip side!

_Mac

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page