top of page

Top Five Historical Fiction Books





*Breezes through the doorway and slams it against the wind* Boy is it chilly outside! Brrr. I don't know about you, but what I need is a nice cup of hot chocolate and a good book. Historical fiction sounds good right about now. ;)


Why don't you go pick one out? That shelf right there has some of my favorite ones. You do that while I go made us a hot drink! *Scurries towards the kitchen*






Ooh, good choice! *Hands you a steaming mug* I must admit, I have not read Pollyanna yet. But I started Dawn because it sounded like such a good story, and I'd already loved the Pollyanna movie. Oh my stars, I loved this! Set in WWI, it follows the journey of a little boy who thinks his father bought him a faulty copy of Treasure Island. Come to find out, he's actually going blind. Such a story. The trials he faced, the disappointments, the conquering. I so need to re-read this soon...




*Gets stary eyed* I had to read The Girl of the Limberlost back in high school, and when I found out it had a prequel, well, I wanted to read both cause... well, that's just me. I'm so glad I did! I absolutely love Freckles! It was such a sweet, deep book about a young Irish orphan who lost his arm as an infant and comes to work for a man by walking a perimeter of the Limberlost. The way he connected with the birds, the gentle sweet way he had about him... I really need to re-read that book too!




Now here's a book I wish there were more of. Set in the Pre-Revolutionary War days, following a preacher with a price on his head, this book shows you just what it was like living in those years of tension. The trials they faced. The faith they possessed. Jayne Baas, if you're reading this, I cannot wait for Patriot by Night to come out!




While I'm at it, here's another great Revolutionary War book. Nat Bowditch grew up through the Revolutionary War, learning all he could about ships while working as an apprentice. How to sail them, how they chart a course, everything he could get his hands on. His voyages and discoveries about sailing and star charts are true stories. This book started out as an assignment and turned into a nightly delight. This was just such an enjoyable read for me, with a satisfying ending that defied the odds. *Swirls my drink in my cup and mumbles "I really should read it again too."*





So, small confession. Or maybe a fun fact. Probably both. But I love everything Irish. The country, the culture, the history. I'm part Irish myself, which only helps. ;) So that was the first reason I wanted to read this book. I mean, 1500s, Ireland? What's not to like? Absolutely nothing, that's what. Hugh, the well-known and respected son of the O'Donnel chieftain, is taken prisoner. The conditions? His family surrender to the English. Now if that doesn't sound like a good plot line, I don't know what is. You know, I really need to re-read this book as well. *sinks into a chair and stares at my books*





Well, I hope you enjoyed that little peek at my historical fiction shelf. Do you have any good historicals I need to read? Let me know down below!


And make room for one more book on your TBR. It's free! And it's also on my TBR as well. ;)


Oh! Before you leave, make sure to check out Kate's post, and enter the giveaway! There's quite a bit of goodies going to one lucky person!


Catch ya on the flip side!

_Mac

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page