top of page

Mid-Year Book FREAK OUT Tag | Bests, worsts, and everything in between.



It’s been a while since I did a book tag on here. Let’s fix that, shall we? I was tagged by the lovely and whimsical Deigan Marie, so make sure to check out her blog, y’all! Lots of awesomeness going on over there. 😁


Let’s get into the tag, shall we?



1 | BEST BOOK YOU'VE READ SO FAR THIS YEAR


Surprisingly, this is very easy. This Life of Mine by Victoria Lynn. I read this book so fast and it will forever have a permanent home on my shelves. 🥰 The winery vibes are spot on, the characters are absolutely heartbreaking and ALL MINE, and I could seriously fangirl about this book till the cows come home. (Anyone want to continue this conversation in the comments? 😂)


2 | BEST SEQUEL YOU'VE READ SO FAR THIS YEAR


Without Warning by Lynette Eason. Those of you who’ve kept up with my blog might recognize this series as being the one that’s been on my TBR so long it should start paying rent. Well, it’s been evicted.


Don’t worry, they’ve all been rehomed to my bookshelves. 😄 The Elite Guardians series has to be my favorite series of Eason’s thus far, and Without Warning did not disappoint!


3 | NEW RELEASE YOU HAVEN'T READ YET, BUT WANT TO


Define “new.” 😆 Because this book I really want to read, and it is fairly new, so . . .


Yeah, I’m going for it.


Critical Threat and Countdown by, you guessed it, Lynette Eason. (Yes, I did two. Don’t judge.)


Sensing a trend yet? 😇




4 | MOST ANTICIPATED RELEASE FOR THE SECOND HALF OF THE YEAR


Another easy one. The Looking Glass Illusion by Sara Ella! 🎩🐇💓 I’m re-reading The Wonderland Trials as we speak to get ready for it (I may or may not have pre-ordered it too! 😎). The nods to the original Alice in Wonderland are an absolute joy to read. It’s just such a fun book!


5 | BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT


*Taps head* I can’t really think of any books this year that were a disappointment—let alone a big one. 😂 I’d call that a win though, right?



6 | BIGGEST SURPRISE


Okay, I have one for this, and it’s in a good way. A Fool and His Monet by Sandra Orchard! I’ve wanted to read that book for so long now, and it was so good! I’d definitely classify it as more of a mystery than a suspense/thriller, but that’s just me.


7 | FAVORITE NEW AUTHOR (DEBUT OR NEW TO YOU)


Erynn Mangum! Paige Torn is one of the funniest (*cough* and relatable *cough*) books I’ve read in a long time. I’ve also read Mind the Gap, and while I didn’t like it quite as much as I did Paige Torn, it was still great with a deep message I really appreciated.


8 | NEWEST FICTIONAL CRUSH


Negative. 😐 Moving on!


9 | NEWEST FAVORITE CHARACTER


Ooooohhh, this is a tough one! I think I’m going to have to go with . . . Quinn Holcombe from Moving Target. I knew there was more going on beneath that tough guy exterior. Top that with an extra dose of sarcasm and dark humor as a coping agent—*slips sunglasses on* Oh, I’m all here for that.


10 | BOOK THAT MADE YOU CRY


Alas, I am in possession of a heart of stone. I do not spill tears over books.


11 | BOOK THAT MADE YOU HAPPY


Paige Torn by Erynn Mangum! I laughed so hard and so often reading this book. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good, deep, challenging book. But sometimes I just want to snort water through my nose ‘cause a character just said something so completely, hysterically relatable.


12 | MOST BEAUTIFUL BOOK YOU'VE BOUGHT SO FAR THIS YEAR (OR RECIEVED)


The Wonderland Trials by miles. 🥰😍



13 | WHAT BOOKS DO YOU NEED TO READ BY THE END OF THE YEAR?


*Achem* Allow me to give you the list. *Cracks knuckles*


Aaaaaaand a whole lot more that I am not thinking of right now. 😆


So there you have it, folks! My mid-year book freakout tag. If you are . . .


Allyson Jamison

Madison Carlin

Ava Coulter

A. M. Watson

YOU!


Then you have been tagged! I can’t wait to see what y’all’s answers are!


What was your best read thus far? Are you excited for The Looking Glass Illusion? Who else wants to fan people over This Life of Mine with me??


Catch ya on the flip side!

_Mac 🤎


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page