top of page

Cover Reveal: Undercover Princess | Plus a Q&A with Olivia Lynn Jarmusch!



If there's one thing I hate in books, it's the inappropriate content and hidden agendas writers are shoving into them—especially in the middle grade market.


Don't even get me started unless you're prepared for a passionate tangent on the subject.


That's why I'm always looking to help spread the word about good books that don't justify bad morals, and one of the reasons I am so excited to share about this brand-new book.


Are you ready??


. . .


. . .


. . .


. . .


. . .


. . .


. . .


. . .


. . .


. . .


. . .


. . .


. . .


. . .


. . .


. . .


HERE IT IS!!!



Isn't is adorable?!



 


Ten-year-old Princess Millie finds herself far from her castle in Europe and smack dab in the middle of horse school madness in Kentucky! But there's a catch: nobody knows she's a princess! Determined to fit in with her classmates at Chestnut Academy, Millie resorts to drastic measures—like a daring hair transformation. Can she keep her true identity under wraps?


Saddle up for an unforgettable adventure as Millie gallops into the hearts of new friends, takes on the thrilling challenge of competing with Starlight the magnificent mare, and discovers the importance of being who she was truly created to be! Get ready for a wild ride full of laughter, friendship, and true princess power! Undercover Princess is the first book in a delightful series for girls ages 8 to 12, Chestnut Academy!




 


Doesn't this sound absolutely precious?! I'm so excited to get to read this book. 🥰 And if you are too, then you're in luck! Pre-orders are open now!




I also had the privilege of asking Livy some questions! 👇



 


What first got you into writing?

Oh goodness, I've been writing for as long as I can remember! I've always been a storyteller, I remember dictating stories to my mom when I was super young. I didn't start taking my writing super seriously until I was a teen. I walked through some dark, lonely years, and writing was such an amazing outlet to share what I was feeling with the Lord, ask Him to spur my imagination and help me escape to beautiful places that didn't exist, and heal through writing dialogue between characters. He really used writing as a catalyst to draw me close to Him, long before I even considered publishing!


What stage of the writing process is your favorite?

Definitely the drafting/brainstorming phase! I just LOVE the electric surge of energy that hits when you're struck with a new idea (which happens pretty much every other day for me, haha! It's very dangerous!) I am very much a pantser (writing by the seat of my pants!) in my preferred writing process, so it's a lot of fun discovery writing. The first draft is always the most exhilarating for me!


What does "ideal writing time" look like for you?

My preferred writing time is when I'm able to take a full day to dedicate to my craft! I'm so blessed to be able to work from home, so (typically) Friday's are marked off as writing days, and I'm able to spend the entire day focused on my manuscript! I know that some writers prefer to spend just short sprints of focused time on their project - ten minutes here, twenty minutes there - but I struggle with that. I feel like I need to be writing for a good half hour or so to truly become immersed in the project and have the words begin to truly take on a life of their own!


Of all the books you've written, which is your favorite and why?

Ooo, this is a fun Q! I absolutely loved writing "The Wedding" which is Book #3 in my series, The Tales of Tarsurella. I have such happy memories of writing this book, because it came so fast and furious, and I had such a blast with it! One of the subplots takes us on an adventure in London, and it's entirely dreamy, so I loved being able to live that adventure with my characters, without ever leaving my bedroom! I also had a BLAST writing the Chestnut Academy series. This was my first time tackling middle grade, and I wasn't entirely sure how it was going to go, but the process was amazingly fun! It was such a joy to craft sweet, simple, uplifting stories, and I can't wait to get these books into the hands of girls everywhere! 💕


What is one piece of writing advice you would give new writers?

I always say, turn off your inner critic! You don't want to self-edit while you write. Editing will come later. If you critique everything that comes onto the page during your first draft, it'll only slow you down and discourage you! First drafts are supposed to be messy. This is your space, your time for fun and freedom! Let the story go where it will, and you can always clean things up later! Just remember that you ARE your own worst critic, and nothing you're writing is as terrible as you think it is. If God has given you the gift and passion for storytelling, don't give up! Just keep writing and cranking out as many drafts as you can, and you'll learn more and more with each new project!



 

Thank you so much, Livy, for answering these questions! Undercover Princess sounds adorable, and I can't wait to follow the adventures of Princess Millie. 😊


If you haven't yet, go check Livy out! She's such a beautiful person and I cannot wait to get my hands on this brand-new book. 😊 The official release date is Tuesday, October 10th! 🥳



Olivia Lynn Jarmusch (but her friends call her Livy!) is an author, singer, and songwriter. Livy enjoy's crafting YA Christian fiction that is pure, lovely, inspirational, and of course, entertaining! When she's not writing, you can usually find her playing guitar, drinking peppermint tea, connecting with new friends, planning her next big trip, or pinning images of Europe and Golden Retriever Puppies.










Are you frustrated and appalled at what is being marketed towards younger readers? What are your favorite middle grade books? Are you excited for the release of Undercover Princess this fall? Drop a comment below and let's talk clean reads!


Catch ya on the flip side!

_Mac 🤎

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page