top of page

Interview with Author Abigail Kay Harris | Seize the Love is OUT, People!




It’s here.


It’s finally here.


This is crazy.


I absolutely love this collection. The stories, the message, the cover (great job, Abigail, you nailed it 😉). Everlasting was a rather difficult story for me to nail down. But it’s done and it’s out there for the world to read. For you to read! And I can’t wait to hear what you guys think. 😊


I’m honored as can be to be sharing this anthology with some downright amazing authors, and even more blessed to be working side by side with my very dear friend, Abigail. Love ya, girl! 🥰

So, to celebrate the release of this anthology, said fellow co-host and amazing author Abigail Kay Harris will be joining me for a little Q&A session!





What first got you into writing?


My mom. She was encouraging me to start writing and I was already a big reader so it wasn’t hard to start… It was just hard to write. After my mom it would be seeing other young indie writers and some of my favorite authors publishing by themselves.


At what point did you think, “Hey, I should share this with the world”?


Not long before my first novella was finished…? It started off as a fun thing I might do then I finally finished my story and published it in three months. I always wanted to publish, but each story I’ve published has been a surprise. I still have a love-hate relationship with sharing my stories because they are each something I am very passionate about.


Why military fiction?


My family. Mostly due to the fact that there is a lack of military fiction that I enjoy or is anywhere near realistic even on a fictional level. As a Veteran’s daughter I have a huge respect for service members and their families, and I love military stories, though I’ve found too few stories I like. Plus there are so many people who think being a part of the military is glorious when in reality it is anything but. I want to share relatable military fiction with those who are military and understand, the ones who want a story that shows light on a subject that isn’t always shown, and because it is still a big part of my life even with my dad out of the military.


Name three things you personally can’t write a book without.


Hmmm, that’s a really interesting question! Ummm, well, I can’t write a story without coffee, chocolate, or music and most times I can’t write a story without you, Mac, because I’ve never written and finished more stories knowing you and having you as a writing buddy than I ever did without your friendship. I can’t do a story without military themes, romance, or themes of found family so far.


Where did you originally get the idea for the Seize the World series?


Like most of my finished story ideas it came from a small old story idea of mine. The actual series of anthologies that makes up Seize the World, well, that one came up when I was just goofing off… With you, as you know. 😜 The stories featuring Caleb, Everly, and Justice weren’t supposed to have a series, actually. Justice has a story I hope to finish one day, but it’s not ready yet and I don’t know when it will be.


What’s been your favorite part about putting together these anthology collections?


Everything? Okay, everything except legal stuff and figuring out contracts. Otherwise, it’s been a blast to do everything for the anthologies. My favorite part would be formatting, it’s just so good to see all of our work pulling together and getting each of the stories finished for the anthologies to be published. Brainstorming for the anthology has also been a lot of fun.



What’s your favorite season?


Up until last year, I would have said autumn. Now though… Due to many things, I’ll say summer. I love the sun, the warmth though not super hot days, and as much as I miss the coast of Maryland and states like that since we moved to Oklahoma I still love summer and seeing the rivers, lakes, and such.


What’s your favorite color?


Green! While I love so many colors, a mix between hunter and army green or other shades of darker greens are my favorites.


Early bird or night owl?


I prefer getting up early, I don’t always have a good relationship with being an early bird and I do tend to be a night owl when busy or whatnot. But I prefer when I’m up and at em before sunrise. I love, love, love when my day starts around 3:30-4 am with coffee, breakfast, and devos before sunrise followed by a few hours of writing till the house is up and so on.


What’s your favorite non-writing related hobby(s).


I tend to not really have hobbies that aren’t related to writing in some way. Except for cooking or baking, both of which I love. I love baking! If I wasn’t so big on writing I’d be baking more.




A huge, huge thank you to Abigail for doing this Q&A! And don't forget, Seize the Love is LIVE! Snag your copy while supplies last! *Totally sounds like a car salesman* (Well . . . ok, I don't think we'll run out that fast. But hurry and get a copy! You never know these days. 😆)


>>> AMAZON <<<

>>>GOODREADS <<<


And a huge "THANK YOU!!" also to everyone who submitted a story into the anthology. This collection would not be here if not for you and your stories! 🤎


Have you read Seize the Love? Were you in the collection? Comment down below and let's talk short stories!


Catch ya on the flip side!

_Mac 🤎

bottom of page