top of page

The Magic of To-Do Lists | Blog Re-Post!




If you know me, then you know my obsession with lists. I have TONS of them. Lists of favorites books, lists of music, lists of things to do, lists, lists, lists.



But I'm also pretty alone in this magical love of to-do lists. Why is that?



Because sometimes, when people see what they need to do written out, it can be pretty overwhelming and terrifying.


Which . . . yeah, makes sense, right? I'm sure you've heard horror stories about lists a mile long, always adding to it, never reaching then end . . .



I get it. But want to know a secret?



I used to H.A.T.E. lists. Chore boards, grocery lists, to-do's . . . they all terrified the life outta me. 😂



But then something happened. I became a writer. And lists became my best friend. I can't imagine a day without them now! But, you may be asking, how do I use to-do lists to my advantage? How do I not be scared out of my wits to see all those checkboxes? Well, my friend, that's why I'm here.





WHY LISTS ARE AMAZING


1 | THE SCIENCE

I am by nooooo means I scientist. I'm barely scraping by with biology. 😂 But I do know one thing: there is something so satisfying about marking something off a to-do list. Your brain sees that checkmark or the highlighter and congratulates itself because it means it did something. That's why, when I write out my lists, I write out every. Single. Stinking. Thing. I need to do. Don't believe me? Here's a list I found a while ago in my planner.



to do:


♥ wake up ♥ read bible ♥ make bed ♥ go to bed

♥ make tea ♥ get dressed ♥ wash hair ♥ drink water



Yes, half those things I do every day anyway (I mean, who doesn't wake up or drink tea?), but I put them on there anyways so my OCD brain could have the pleasure of crossing them off.



2 | ENSURES SUCCESS

I have a limited amount of time on the computer each day. Which is a great thing because it gets me outside and gives me plenty of time away from devices. But it is also really hard to get everything done, especially if you're like me and just sit down at the computer and start pulling up random tabs you think you might need . . . and then the second you power down the computer, you think, "I knew I was forgetting something!" To-do lists ensure you don't forget anything and gives you a concrete schedule of the day ahead. My mom always says you should set yourself up for success. Writing out what you need to do helps with that.



3 | GIVES YOU ACCOUNTABILITY

This goes hand in hand with what I said above. To-do lists give you accountability for your commitments and ensures you don't forget something important. Every morning after my bible time, I write out a comprehensive list of what needs to be done that day, and then I tackle it.



HOW TO USE TO-DO LISTS FOR WRITING


There are soooo many ways you can use a to-do list, both in life and writing. Here's some of the ways I use them . . .



1 | PLOTTING

I have a set aside notebook for each story I write. In it, I write out a bullet-point list of things I want to happen in my story. Even if you're a discovery writer, I'd still recommend you do this as it gives you a concrete outlet for your creativity and ensures you don't accidentally miss a scene that needs to happen (guilty 🙈).



2 | RESEARCH

One of my novel ideas that I have revolves around a travelling circus. Since I have never gone to a circus or acted in one, I needed to research it. I have a list of things to look into, ranging from security gear to outfits to acts to the tent layout. It's especially handy when you're in the middle of writing and are like, "Oh darn, I need to research this . . ." You can just write it down and come back to it later!



3 | PUBLISHING

There's a story I'm hoping to publish sometime, and in that notebook, I have a list of things I need to look into/do before I can publish it. Things like cover design and fix blurb and send to beta-readers. I honestly think I might up and die without these. 😅



4 | EDITING

If you know anything about editing, you probably know that there are several stages: developmental editing, copy editing, content, line, proofreading, and the list goes on. When I start editing a new story, I write down everything that needs to be done, plus smaller steps beneath those large steps to do in those big steps . . . you get the point. Editing checklists ensure you don't forget something major and have to go back and re-do it.




USING THEM TO W I N


1 | MAKE THEM AESTHETIC

If you've been hanging around this blogging even for a little bit, then you know I'm a sucker for aesthetics. I make aesthetic boards for writing, I take (or try to take) aesthetic photos, and I make my lists aesthetically pleasing. How do I do this? Good question. First off, I . . .


USE A PEN I LOVE

There is something just so . . . aesthetic (😂) about using a favourite pen. Maybe

it's the smooth way it writes. Maybe it's the feel of it rolling over your fingertips.

Maybe it's the ink color. Maybe it's all of the above. Whatever the reason, I always

write my lists with a pen I love using. It's the same idea as writing your story with a

font you love.



USE PRETTY POINTERS

(Because I have no clue what they are called XD) Instead of just listing everything

out in a single column with a dash ( - ) line in front . . . do something prettier. When

I'm writing them out, I will use smoll dots or hearts. When I'm typing them, I will

use . . .


🌻 pretty emojis

_ underscores

♥ hearts

* asterisk

~ swirl-thingy (XD)

--> arrows



WRITE IN A SMALL FONT

Yes, I do this. Yes, it takes a long time . . . but it's SO. COOL!!! There's something

sooooo pretty about small font that takes up half a line instead of a full line. I

totally get it if that is not the thing for you (really--I do), but it is something I love

doing.



2 | DON'T MAKE THEM TOO LONG

Yes, I know I said adding a lot of small, miniscule tasks to make your brain happy is a good idea, but . . . it can also overwhelm your brain into thinking there's more to do than there actually is. Combine two things that you can knock out at the same time. Have multiple lists (I do this all the time; one list for online things I need to do, offline things I need to do, smoll things that aren't that important, etc.).



3 | START SMOLL

Which is basically me repeating what I said above, but seriously. Start. Super. Small. You remember that saying about eating an elephant? You take it one bite at a time. Start with a short, three item list that are your top three frogs (if you know, you know XD). Once you've crossed off everything on that list . . . do it again.



And again.



And again.



Do it until you feel comfortable adding more items. I know it sounds like I'm suggesting you take baby steps, but that's because I am. Especially if you loathe lists and would rather do something like scrubbing a bathroom with a toothbrush or walk uphill in sweltering weather. Start small, then work your way up. You got this. I believe in you.




What was your favorite tip? Are you a list person? What's your favorite thing to use lists for?


Reposted from Deigan Marie's Blog! 😊

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page