top of page

A Writer's Survival Guide to NaNo



If you’re like me, then you love NaNoWrMo. The challenge, the community, the excitement surrounding a new story idea. Everything about it! I’m there all the way.


However, a mistake a lot of writers can make–myself included circa first Nano attempt–is to simply jump in head first. No thought, no plan, hardly an idea of what they’re even doing. That was me with my first Nano attempt and, let’s just say, I learned very quickly a better way…


The Necessities of NaNo


That’s right, you have to have a plan. (And, yes, I’m speaking to the discovery writers in the crowd as well.) Because without a plan, you’re like a tourist in a foreign country wandering around and enjoying the sights. Everything is lovely and fun… until you get lost. Then you have to take time out to ask for directions (probably from someone who doesn’t even speak your language!) and reroute onto a better path. A path that will finally take you to your goal.


Phew! That was a lot of work. And very time consuming. If there’s one thing you don’t have during NaNo, it’s time. You should be spending every spare second writing your novel, not figuring out things you should have had planned ahead of time!


But what should you plan ahead?


Each person’s list of necessities is going to look a bit different. Everyone has different levels of priorities and what they feel is needed to complete the challenge.


For me, two very important things that I need are:

  • A thorough outline

  • A rough schedule


Now, if you’re a discovery writer, you probably won’t find having an outline important. But I cannot achieve the goal without one. A lot of the prepping process for me consists of character development, the three-act story structure, and even chapter summaries. This might sound like a lot, but when you break it down step by step it’s actually quite feasible. I could never write 50k words in one month without an outline.


When I say I need a rough schedule, for me that means I need to know when I’ll be able to write and plan accordingly. So I usually think through, do I plan to write early in the morning (meaning, am I going to have to drag myself out of bed earlier than I’d like)? Afternoon? Not till the evening? This is something that takes a load off my mind if I know ahead of time. It helps me plan and be able to focus more on my writing.


That’s the goal here: focusing on your writing. Any planning that you do is to help you focus on that. So decide for yourself what that looks like for you personally and what it means you need to prep.


Preparing for Failure… and Success!


Not all the planning goes into your story. Most of it is for you.


For most writers, writing 50k in a month is hard. It’s a challenge. And it’s not something to be taken lightly.


There are going to be ups and downs. You will probably start the month out full of excitement and plenty of energy to go around. By the middle of the month, you might start to drag and question your sanity. Once you reach the end, it might take all your energy to write your word goal, and even then your words felt like trash.


I don’t say this to discourage you, but to prepare you.


NaNo is not an amusement park with fun rides and popcorn on the side. It’s hard work. It’s more like a roller coaster that flies by at lightning pace and makes you a little queasy along the way. And it might just flip you on your head a time or two.


When I’m preparing for NaNo, I’m also preparing myself for this. For the disappointment when I don’t reach my daily goal. The agony when I feel like all I’m writing is trash. And other writerly maladies including writer’s block, procrastination, and imposter syndrome.


Now, you can’t prepare for everything. All the planning in the world won’t save you from having lows during NaNo. They will happen. My challenge for you is to expect this, and be in the mindframe to overcome it ahead of time. Defeat everything inside you that wants to quit, and press on!


Because just as there are going to be lows, there will be highs as well. Like the joy when you write a scene that came out so well. Characters that melt your heart and make you love them to death. The love for this new story you’re creating and excitement when you think of sharing it with the world one day.


All of this and more is the crazy ride we call being a writer. Welcome aboard!


My Progress Thus Far


Maybe you created a game plan before this month, or maybe you’re feeling a little called out right now. Maybe you’re at the place where your writing has come to a halt because you needed to create a better plan. Let me just say, wherever you are right now, have fun! NaNo is difficult and there will be challenges along the way, but it’ll all be for nothing if you don't enjoy the journey. Never lose the joy you find in writing. Never.


I thought I would share a bit of my current process during this challenge. Be warned, it’s messy…


My NaNo project this year is a YA contemporary mystery that I’m absolutely in love with! It has beach vibes, friendship vibes, as well as a sense of loss and hopelessness. It’s an emotional book to write, that’s for sure. But, then again, those are the best, aren’t they?


However, I’m not just writing this month. I’m also in the middle of attempting my first major edit on a separate novel… Not daunting at all. Oh, and I’m also doing a reading challenge with some friends because, well, why not? (Whose bright idea was that??) Don’t forget my new business that I launched at the beginning of this month. As if I needed one more thing!


The point is, it’s one messy NaNo for me this year. My room is full of stacks of books, boxes, and notebooks. Sometimes I wonder where the door disappeared to.


But that’s life, isn’t it? It throws the punches and we just have to roll with it. (Okay, maybe I could’ve said no to the reading challenge or decided to launch my business another time. Those are on me. But hey, who can say no to fun?!)


I think NaNo is a test of patience and endurance. Whether you have as many things going on as I do or not. It’s a lot easier to throw in the towel halfway through and say, "I quit!" But what’s gained out of that?


I worked extra hard this year to be prepared ahead of time both mentally and physically for NaNo, and I’m confident that it’s already saved me a whole load of stress. Because of it, everything is rolling smoothly! Well, okay. Maybe smoothly isn't the right word. *glares at the mountain of edits* But smoother than it could be going? Yeah, I’ll take that.


Despite my hectic schedule, I’m having so much fun! I’m thoroughly in love with this new novel I’m writing, enjoying edits more than I thought I would be (surprise, surprise!), and my new business is going so well! Even this reading challenge is going great in the sense that it’s forcing me to take time off to read and refill my creative well. I don’t know how much I would have done that otherwise.


If it had been up to me, I would not have planned such a crazy month. But God knew what I could and couldn’t handle and gave me just the right amount. (Maybe a little less next time, please?!) This month has already taught me so many valuable lessons and I’m enjoying the ride. How’s your NaNo going?



 

Hi! I'm Allyson.

I'm a quirky, tea-addicted writer with a passion to show other writers that there is a different method for each individual and that there is hope in the process. Never give up. You're just beginning.










 

Thank you so much Allyson for guest posting on my blog! While I'm sort of unofficially attending NaNoWriMo this year, Allyson is always more planned out for it than me. I wonder why. 😂 Are you doing NaNo this year? How's your progress (or lack thereof 😉) been?


Catch ya on the flip side!

_Mac

42 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page