top of page

Unlocking the Box | 5 ways to connect with your character.



What makes a great book?


Let me rephrase that: what makes a memorable book?


Think back to the last great book you read. What made it so good? Was it the intriguing setting? The author’s writing style? The snappy dialogue or great descriptions?


. . . Or was it the character?


A book might have a stellar plot line with twists and turns around every corner, but if the readers don’t connect with the characters, then they won’t be as involved with the story as they could be.



I love a good plot. I love it when foreshadowing and hints and twists are masterfully done.


But while what’s happening is important, it’s the characters that make me really and truly love the book. (This is often referred to as Plot Driven vs Character Driven. Plot Driven is when the plot is what’s keeping the story going. Character Driven is when the characters are carrying the plot line and action.)


Now, this can be really hard to do. It requires the author to be in-tune with their characters, knowing them inside and out—their greatest fears and desires, their misbelief, their likes and dislikes, essentially what makes them tick. And by showing why what’s happening matters to them, the characters, the reader then goes from “Wow, that would be terrible happening to me” to “WOW, that’s so terrible happening to them.”


The reader then essentially connects with the characters, making them want to cheer them on even harder, cry even louder, and love the book even deeper.


If you’re a writer, I can practically hear you from here: “Gee, thanks a lot, Mac, make my writing life even harder why dontcha.” And to that, my answer is, “You’re welcome! I will.” 😁


Just kidding. I get it. The struggle is real. These are fiction characters in our heads! Why won’t they just tell us who they are already? (Or, better yet, why they’re there in the first place and which unnamed story they belong to this time. 🤦‍♀️)


But, never fear! If you are struggling with your character (or characters, because believe me, it’s never just one we’re worried about), here are 5 ideas to try when a pickaxe and crowbar won’t separate them from their shell.




1 | Cue the music!


I’m a hugely musical person. I’ve played the piano since I was a wee thing, which probably has a lot to do with the way my brain’s wired today. 😅 I love music for everything! For working, for writing, for cleaning the house, for dancing (it’s funny how often those last two coincide . . .), but especially for characters.


If you haven’t already, try finding some songs that match your character. (Double points if the song describes the character’s internal conflict or backstory.)


And if that doesn’t work, try ambiences! Does your character have a darker, kinda broody attitude? Dark academia playlists might have just become your best friend. Is your protagonist a funny, easygoing kinda person? Try instrumental pop. And if your book is in any way based off or inspired by a TV show or movie, definitely check out the soundtracks from those.


Or, you know, if you’re incredibly talented, just write your own songs! 😉



2 | Dear Diary . . .


Do you keep a diary or journal? I do. You know who else should?


Yep. Your character.


I discovered this little gem of a trick back when I first started work on my dystopian duology PROJECT: Volt and Co. (and I’ve been using it on another series set in the same story world). Just pretend you are your character and write a journal entry like you think they would. Not only can this be super fun, but you wouldn’t believe the juicy details and tidbits you learn from it.


And no two entries are even the same! For instance, here’s a character from PROJECT: Volt and Co.:



 

06/04/4409


Well, I did something stupid. Again.


 


And here’s what an entry looks like from a super-secret project I’m calling PROJECT: REIGN (🤫):



 

Thursday

DECEMBER

The 12th

11:02 PM


Can one go insane without realizing it?

 

Two completely different characters. Two completely different formats and styles. Isn’t it fun?



3 | Copycat


No, this is not me condoning plagiarism. This is me saying tap into your inner people-watching skills. You’ll thank me later.


Sometimes, it’s helpful to model a character (at least partly) after a person you know in real life. (Or an actor, either works.) Give your character a trait of theirs—a certain way of talking, a facial expression, a tick or a quirk. Anything that is easy for you to see in your head and describe on the page.


I did this for a side character of mine. He does this little head roll to the side before snapping his head around to face whoever’s talking. It’s a small thing in my book, but I knew exactly how it looks and how to write it because someone I know personally does that exact thing. 🤭


4 | The vibe’s the thing


Along with being very musical in my functioning, I’m also very much a visual person. Give this post a heart if that’s you too. 😂 But if I can see a scene, a character, a setting, or a thought, I can write it so much better.


I love making Pintrest boards for my books. I love making the aesthetic of them all match and weaving in certain pictures into the actual book. There’s just something about seeing it before my very eyes that makes my brain go “Aaahhh, yesssss.”


You can also take these pictures and make reels and collages with them! Canva offers templates for both. 😁 (Or, if you want to share them, Instagram!)



5 | Lookin’ snappy


This last one can be really fun—dressing like your characters!


Now, this can be a bit tricky if you’re in short supply of evening and ball gowns, or if your suit of armor hasn’t come in yet (my super soldier gear seems to be on backorder . . .). But if at all possible, this can be a great way of getting into your character’s mood!


As a friend recently pointed out, “You’re wearing black on black again.” (To which I replied, “What’s wrong with black?”) But I did happen to be writing a spy/agent sequence that day, and my main character was wearing black, so . . . 😎 Even if you can’t exactly match your character’s outfits, just wearing their color scheme can totally help.



So there you have it! 5 ways to help you crack open your character’s shell and get into their minds. And if one doesn’t work, try a combination of both. And be creative! Who cares if you haven’t seen anyone else use a certain method—if it works for you, then that’s all that matters. 😉


Do you have a specific playlist/ambience that matches a character? Would you totally want to write more if you had your character’s exact outfit in your closet? What’s your method for getting in touch with your characters? Let’s compare methods of madness down below!


Catch ya on the flip side!

_Mac 🤎


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page