top of page

Get To Know My Character Tag!



Hello, beautiful people! With the release of the Seize the Love anthology right around the corner, I thought, what better way to celebrate than a “Get to Know My Character” Blog tag with Laylah! So that’s what you’re getting. 😁


For those of you who haven’t read Unconditional in the Seize the Night anthology I co-hosted (which came out last December), Laylah is the MC in that short, as well as in my brand new short that will be this next anthology! She’s really an interesting character to me. Not that she’s overly intriguing or anything, but just her character and the things she thinks and says really take me by surprise.


Like this post if you have one of those characters. 😆


That being said, let’s jump into this tag challenge! I’m super excited to hear what she says . . . I think.


But first—THE RULES.


Here we go

 



What’s your full name?


Laylah Kay Borden. 😊


How old are you?


I am 21 years old, but don’t let that determine your mental picture of me. I’ve been very busy the past few years of my life.


Where do you live? (You can be as specific as you want)


I rent a modest apartment in my little hometown of Jackson County, a small country town with deep roots in ranching, farming, and a simpler life.


What has been your greatest achievement in life?


My greatest achievement has to be moving up the ladder at my job’s company, going straight from messenger girl to manager in a little over a year.


Do you have friends? Enemies?


Friends, yes. Childhood pals, my family, and my brother. 💖 He’s amazing. Enemies? Well . . . not that I can think of.


What’s your hobby/hobbies?


I love to write. But I haven’t had much time lately. My job calls for sacrifices, and hobbies were the first to go.


How would you describe your personality? Introvert, extrovert, neat, not-so neat, etc.


I’d describe myself as a realistic, introverted extrovert. I like to be around people, but sometimes I just need quiet. 😉And I’m a fairly neat person. Clutter confuses me.


Describe your family. Siblings, parents, pets, etc.


My family. My family means the world to me. My mother is the strongest person I know, and my dad is absolutely fearless. He used to be a cop and now works as a consultant on some cases in between running the family farm with my mom.


Levi, my brother is . . . amazing. I absolutely love him. He’s two years older, but we did everything together as kids. He’s currently an Air Force pilot and I couldn’t be more proud of him.


I don’t have any pets, but I’d like to get one one day. Maybe a hedgehog. They’re so cute. 🥰🦔


Walnuts and Brownies, yay or nay? (I feel like this is an important question)


Walnuts are ok, but brownies are the BEST. Growing up, brownie points at my house counted towards actual brownies. They caused civil wars. 😂


Favorite book to read? Or if you don’t like to read, something else you like to do?


I really love Stop the Rain by Kassie Angle, or anything from Abigail Harris really. She knows how to write military life that’s realistic, not just some idealistic fairytale that some people seem to think it is.


BONUS! If you had a choice, what would you tell your author? Would you want her to change your story? Explain.


Hands down, I’d tell her that Levi needs to be around more. I get that he’s super busy, but I’d have her let us spend more time together. Some days those dirt roads get to calling and all I want to do is blare the music in Levi’s truck while eating up the miles. *Gets a faraway look in her eyes*



 


So, there you have it! Laylah didn’t decide to pull any surprises on me this time. 😂 She really is a fun character to write, and I can’t wait to see how people respond to her next short in this anthology. The story itself was a rather difficult one, especially the ending, and there was way more I originally wanted to fit in, but in the end, I feel like it’s exactly where God wants it to be.


And that’s perfectly fine with me.


(Just a reminder, Seize the Love comes out February 14th, and preorders are available up until then! Don’t miss out!!)


And now, drumroll please while I tag my people . . .


🥁🥁🥁🥁🥁🥁🥁🥁🥁🥁







Have you read Unconditional? Are you excited for the release of Seize the Love? Comment below and let’s talk characters and new releases!


Catch ya on the flip side!

_Mac 🤎


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page